Central Ohio Neurological Surgeons, Inc. C.O.N.S.
955 Eastwind Drive
Westerville, Ohio 43081
(map and directions)

Our History

Central Ohio Neurological Surgeons was created in 1969 by David Yashon, M.D, who was a Professor of Neurosurgery at The Ohio State University Medical Center. Dr. Yashon formed this private practice to provide patients with high quality patient-centered care. Dr. Yashon was soon joined by Edward S. Sadar, M.D. and Thomas J. Hawk, M.D. and, as other neurosurgeons joined, offices were located early on at OSU Medical Center, St. Anthony’s Hospital, Riverside Methodist Hospital and Mt. Carmel East Hospital.

As a result of continued growth of the practice, Central Ohio Neurological Surgeons developed and opened in 2006 a new full service care campus in Westerville, Ohio, located at 955 Eastwind Drive, which remains the main location of clinical offices and care for the group today. This Eastwind campus encompasses 38,000 square feet of care space, including full radiology services and its own ambulatory surgery center, Eastwind Surgical Center. As part of their commitment to community outreach, Central Ohio Neurological Surgeons has, over the years, established and maintains clinical offices in multiple smaller communities throughout the Central Ohio region.

In 2015, Central Ohio Neurological Surgeons became exclusively affiliated with Mount Carmel Health System and, as a result, currently provides surgical services at Mount Carmel St. Ann’s Hospital, Mount Carmel New Albany Hospital and Mount Carmel East Hospital, in addition to the Eastwind Surgical Center. Future projected growth includes expansion to the planned Mount Carmel Grove City Hospital and the provision of neurosurgical trauma services to the Mount Carmel East Trauma Center, currently in development.

Drs. Hawk and Sadar retired in 2004 and founding surgeon Dr. Yashon retired in 2011, but their heritage of excellence in patient-centered care remains at the heart of today’s Central Ohio Neurological Surgeons.

Quick Info
Thomas J. Hawk, M.D., Emeritus
William Kemp, M.D., Emeritus
Edward S. Sadar, M.D., Emeritus
David Yashon, M.D., Emeritus